Entertainment

The Other Einstein

Those who've studied Albert Einstein at all may already know that his wife, Mileva Maric, was just as brilliant if not more so than her husband. Evidence has been presented that supports the claim that she may even be behind some of his most famous works, which is not hard to imagine. Women in the early 1900s were not readily given credit for scientific work, after all.

Unofficial Books

Obviously you're not about to use them as source material for a research paper, but how well do you trust unofficial books? Many of these books exist as biographies or guides to media like movies or TV shows and are simply without permission from the original source. Most digital media already exists in this format, so what's the big deal? 

Game of Thrones Spinoffs are Coming

Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, take a deep breath: the spinoffs that we've all been hearing rumors about are indeed in discussion. George R.R. Martin says that he is in talks with HBO writers about a FEW spinoff ideas. He does say that they likely will not be airing at the same time, but they will provide plenty of entertainment for those of us who need our regular GOT fix over the next decade or two if they're all approved!

Deceptively Delicious

Jessica Seinfeld's cookbook, Deceptively Delicious, has been on my to-read list for a long time. When I finally checked it out from the library, I skimmed through the book and realized that the recipes were pretty much the same ones you will find anywhere. The only twist is that they incorporate vegetable purees in them to get kids to eat their vegetables. This is fine; I'm happy to pack extra nutrition in muffins or macaroni.

Reading Can Reduce Stress Levels

When my daughter was a baby, I went two years without reading a single book. As a lifetime bookworm, I had no idea the kind of impact this would have on me. It wasn’t a conscious decision; I just had no time between her, working and finishing college. When I realized why I felt so depressed, I don’t think it was postpartum depression so much as reading withdrawal.

The Wee Free Men

It’s spring time and almost time for summer reading programs and lazy days spent in a hammock. If you’re searching for the perfect read, no matter your age, you should give Terry Pratchett’s Wee Free Men series a try. It’s set in the Discworld series but it’s not as difficult to jump into as Discworld can be for some readers.

Should Any Books Be Banned?

When it comes to banning books, most bibliophiles are vehemently against the practice. There’s no room for censorship among artists and free thinkers, right? When parents want to ban books like To Kill a Mockingbird or One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest from high school reading lists, most lovers of literature protest, arguing that the themes of these books are important for young adults to experience.

Find Learning and Adventures in the Know Yourself Program

If your child enjoys reading graphic novels and is interested in how his or her body works, you may be interested in the Know Yourself subscription box program. Each month, your child will receive a comic book, science and art activities, an activity book and cool extras to help them learn more about themselves and their bodies.

The Cozy Life

Living hygge is all the rage right now, and one of the simplest guides to embracing this Danish concept is The Cozy Life: Rediscover the Joy of Simple Things Through the Danish Concept of Hygge. Author Pia Edberg shares her firsthand knowledge about the concept from growing up in Denmark in order to help readers embrace hygge, from recipes to personal stories, concrete tips on room transformation to changing your attitude, clothing, and life itself.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Entertainment