Books

Romancing the Ordinary

Do you find yourself going through the motions, not enjoying your life as much as you'd like? If you woke up and just realized that it's July already, this book is for you! Sarah Ban Breathnach, the famous author of Simple Abundance and Something More (think gratitude journaling!), wrote Romancing the Ordinary more than a decade ago and it's still a gorgeous book to help you move through the seasons with mindfulness and sensuality. 

Best Books of Summer 2017

Summer is in full swing and so are summer reading lists. How is your summer reading going? Whether you've already met your quota or you are searching for something to start, Publishers Weekly has a wonderful list of ten summer reads that are sure to whet your appetite for books. From Patricia Lockwood's memoir to China Mieville's story of Russian revolution, there is something interesting in the list for everyone.

Re-Reading The Dark Tower

Are you getting ready for The Dark Tower film yet? Stephen King has a huge year this year, what with TV shows, films, books and a tour going on. He's even going to be in my hometown (sadly they are already sold out, so I won't be attending). I've heard a lot of people talk about how they plan on re-reading The Dark Tower to prep for the big film starring Idris Elba (woohoo!). It has been so long since I've read the book that I think I'll do the same.

The Other Einstein

Those who've studied Albert Einstein at all may already know that his wife, Mileva Maric, was just as brilliant if not more so than her husband. Evidence has been presented that supports the claim that she may even be behind some of his most famous works, which is not hard to imagine. Women in the early 1900s were not readily given credit for scientific work, after all.

Unofficial Books

Obviously you're not about to use them as source material for a research paper, but how well do you trust unofficial books? Many of these books exist as biographies or guides to media like movies or TV shows and are simply without permission from the original source. Most digital media already exists in this format, so what's the big deal? 

Game of Thrones Spinoffs are Coming

Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, take a deep breath: the spinoffs that we've all been hearing rumors about are indeed in discussion. George R.R. Martin says that he is in talks with HBO writers about a FEW spinoff ideas. He does say that they likely will not be airing at the same time, but they will provide plenty of entertainment for those of us who need our regular GOT fix over the next decade or two if they're all approved!

Deceptively Delicious

Jessica Seinfeld's cookbook, Deceptively Delicious, has been on my to-read list for a long time. When I finally checked it out from the library, I skimmed through the book and realized that the recipes were pretty much the same ones you will find anywhere. The only twist is that they incorporate vegetable purees in them to get kids to eat their vegetables. This is fine; I'm happy to pack extra nutrition in muffins or macaroni.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books